The 16 participating teams are split into four single round-robin pools (A, B, C and D) of four teams each for the first stage of the championship.

All 16 teams advance to the eighthfinals while their placement in the final pool standings determines their positions in the single-elimination bracket.

After the eighthfinals, all 16 teams go through another three rounds of elimination matches (quarterfinals, semifinals and final for the winners; playoffs and classification matches for the losers) to fill all the places from first to 16th in the final competition standings.