DU6I0412

After a flawless 4-0 start in the 2021/22 Lega Pallavolo Femminile Serie A1 season and a 3-2 win on October 31, Prosecco Doc Imoco Volley Conegliano found themselves in the same trap last Sunday when they played Unet E-Work Busto Arsizio.

Alexa Gray led Busto Arsizio in scoring and helped them get a 2-1 set lead, but Paola Egonu took matters into her own hands to help Conegliano get out of trouble and extend the match to a tie-breaker. Conegliano won the fourth set with a two-point margin before keeping their winning run intact with a 3-2 (25-21, 20-25, 21-25, 25-23, 15-11) victory.

Egonu backed the five-set victory with 30 points, including 25 attacks, three aces and two blocks. She teamed up with Kathryn Plummer, Megan Courtney and Robin De Kruijf who scored 18, 17 and 14 points, respectively.

Against Chieri, Egonu posted 20 points to guide Conegliano to conclude the match with a 3-0 scoreline (25-22, 25-22, 25-22). The Italian opposite has now overtaken Busto Arsizio’s Camile Mingardi as the league’s top scoring opposite with a total of 142 points in seven outings.

The straight-set win against Chieri also marked the return of Italian outside hitter Miriam Sylla.

Conegliano have now registered a total of 72 consecutive wins in 699 days, tying the Italian league record of Teodora Ravenna between 1985-1987.

Conegliano’s next opponents on Sunday are Bosca S.Bernardo Cuneo. But before that, Delta Despar Trentino will go up against Bartoccini Fortinfissi Perugia on Saturday at 17.30 CET/16.30 GMT, and Vbc Trasporti Pesanti Casalmaggiore will play Megabox Ondulati Del Savio Vallefoglia at 20.30 CET/19.30 GMT.

Currently in second place are Igor Gorgonzola Novara, who beat Cuneo in four sets last weekend (26-24, 25-14, 22-25, 25-22).

Micha Hancock relied on some middle work to get the offence of Novara going, as she dished out sets to her national teammate Haleigh Washington who top scored with 18 markers. Hancock also distributed the balls well from the wings as Ebrar Karakurt and Britt Herbots had their fair share of points with 16 and 14 points, respectively.

We had two difficult moments, but the most important things were to get out of it and score three important points. We knew that Cuneo would defend a lot and push us to put us in crisis, but we remained alert and tight as a group to take another victory. Britt Herbots

The 3-1 victory puts them in solo second with five wins and one loss so far. They will have another opportunity to get closer to current leaders Conegliano should they win against Volleyball Bergamo 1991 on Saturday at 19.30 CET/18.30 GMT.

Meanwhile, Reale Mutua Fenera Chieri and Il Bisonte Firenze are third- and fourth-ranked with identical 4-2 win-loss cards. Both teams are coming off straight-set wins and will look to improve their standings after their respective Sunday encounters.

Chieri will have fifth-ranked Savino Del Bene Scandicci as their opponents, while Firenze will face tough rivals in Busto Arsizio. Acqua & Sapone Roma Volley Club and Vero Volley Monza are also scheduled to play at 17.00 CET/16.00 GMT.

  • Get all the details from all the matches of the Italian League here.